Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot

Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot

RNIP Canada can get you Canadian permanent residence


The Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot stands as a community-driven initiative, strategically crafted to extend the advantages of economic immigration to smaller communities. It carves a pathway to permanent residence for skilled foreign workers aspiring to work and reside in one of the participating communities. This program is meticulously designed to address local labor market demands, stimulate regional economic development, and foster a hospitable atmosphere conducive to retaining new immigrants in rural areas. By collaborating with community-based partners, federal government entities, and provincial and territorial governments, the initiative aims to enhance the long-term retention of skilled newcomers in rural settings. As a candidate, securing employment with an employer in one of the participating communities is the initial step. Upon community endorsement and successful permanent residence application, candidates relocate to the designated community to work and establish their lives. The application process for eligible candidates is set to commence as early as fall 2019, with additional information to be provided at that time.


What is Canada’s Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot?

Initiated as a community-driven effort, the Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot (RNIP) was introduced by the federal government of Canada in 2019. This significant milestone was officially announced through a News Release dated June 14, 2019, by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC).


What is the aim of the RNIP?

The RNIP endeavours to disperse the advantages of economic immigration to the smaller communities in Canada. Tailored to the specific goal of encouraging newcomers to settle in any of the 11 selected communities, the RNIP is meticulously crafted to make these communities the permanent homes of those who choose to immigrate.


How will the RNIP help communities?

Drawing in the individuals needed by a specific community will contribute to local economic growth, thus aiding in the support of various middle-class jobs within these communities.

The participating RNIP communities will have access to a variety of support systems to pilot the new, innovative, community-driven model aimed at addressing gaps in the local labour market.


How many communities are a part of Canada’s RNIP?

11 rural and northern communities have been shortlisted to be a part of the Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot of Canada.


How were the RNIP communities selected?

The 11 communities participating in RNIP Canada were chosen to be a representative sample of regions throughout Canada. These communities will play a pivotal role in setting the blueprint for the rest of the country.


Which communities are a part of the RNIP of Canada?

Eleven communities from five Canadian provinces—Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Ontario, and Saskatchewan—are part of RNIP Canada. Ontario has five communities, British Columbia and Manitoba each have two communities, and Alberta and Saskatchewan each have one community.

For Your Free Eligibility Check

Call Us Now

This includes family members that you will be supporting even if they aren’t immigrating to Canada with you.

Intention to live in a community 

To be eligible to apply for Canadian permanent residence through RNIP Canada, you must have the intention of living within the community recommending you for your PR visa.


Meet the community-specific requirements 

Each of the 11 participating communities in the RNIP has its own community requirements that must be met by an individual. 

Do note that you must have temporary resident status in Canada if you are already within the country at the time of applying to the RNIP.

Step-by-step guide to permanent residence in Canada through the RNIP immigration route:

Step 1: A total of 11 communities from five provinces are carefully chosen to participate in the Pilot.

Step 2: The community and/or employer establishes a connection with the candidate—either the candidate can initiate the process independently or be approached.

Step 3: The candidate submits an application for RNIP recommendation.

Step 4: The community thoroughly reviews the RNIP applications it receives, selecting the “best fit” among them.

Step 5: The community officially recommends the candidate under the RNIP, rendering them eligible to apply to IRCC for permanent residence in Canada based on the community’s endorsement.

Step 6: The candidate submits their Canada PR application to Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC).

Step 7: Assessment against the Federal Selection Criteria for the RNIP and other necessary requirements.

Step 8: The candidate successfully attains their Canadian permanent residence.

Step 9: The RNIP-recommending community warmly receives the candidate and their family members in Canada. Additionally, the recommending community assumes responsibility for providing essential services to support their settlement and integration.


How can Lionsher assist you?

Lionsher Canada Immigrations stands out as the premier visa consultant in Canada and Dubai, having served over 15,000 customers with more than 2,000 active cases.

Your Trusted Partner in Canadian Immigration.

Our Offices
Copyright 2023 by Lionsher All Right Reserved.
Go To Top